Analog Allstars EQP-1S5

April 22, 2012 § 6 Comments

I threw together a pair of these Analog Allstars 500 series solid state Pultec EQP-1A clones yesterday. The build instructions were clear and they were a breeze to put together. I haven’t had a chance to give them a listen yet but I’ll report back when I do. I ended up using some Purple KDJ-4 opamps I had lying around as opposed to the original API 2520’s (yep, the solid state pultecs used API opamps) so if i don’t love them I can always try to swap them out.

The only thing I had to go back and fix was the transformer wiring. It’s clearly labeled, but I swapped the inputs and outputs. Just something to watch out for.

Image

Image

Image

Image

§ 6 Responses to Analog Allstars EQP-1S5

  • matt says:

    how to these sound? have been thinking of building some for vocal & instrument eq and for mix bus. what are your thoughts?

    thanks!

  • easier said than done 🙂 Things are crazy with construction, but if I get a chance over at the studio I’ll print some stuff through it for you!

  • matt says:

    or if you have some mixes you ran through it before and after, would mean so much. thinking of building a pair, but would love to get a vibe for it first. about to build some vp28’s for mix bus. going to swap out a few resistors to have 20 and 40hz on the bottom instead of 40 and 80hz 🙂

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Analog Allstars EQP-1S5 at strangeweathercustom.

meta