SW Custom #1: U87 Clones

March 23, 2012 § Leave a comment

I picked up a couple of poctop’s U1621 boards over at groupdiy.com. Since these are the first microphones I’ve  built I figured I’d try to stay relatively cheap by using a body from Aurycle. There’s no pattern switch, so I’m going to leave the pattering switching as jumpers inside the mic. I’m sure they’ll be in cardioid ninety five percent of the time anyway, and if not maybe I’ll just move them in to some nicer bodies further up the road. The capsule is a peluso K87i and transformer a cinemag CM-2480. They look alright on the scope but I haven’t gotten a chance to listen to them yet.

Look alright, but I still haven't listened to the damn things...

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading SW Custom #1: U87 Clones at strangeweathercustom.

meta